

Delhi Electricity Regulatory Commission

Viniyamak Bhavan, C-Block, Shivalik, Malviya Nagar, New Delhi-110017 F.17(155)/Engg./DERC/2017-18/5746

Order (Date of Order:01.01.2021)

Whereas the Delhi Electricity Regulatory Commission (Supply Code and Performance Standards) Regulations, 2017 (hereinafter referred to as 'Regulations') provide the procedure for grant of temporary connection and review of sanctioned load/ contract demand.

And whereas Regulation 16 (1) of the Regulations, provide that the temporary connection can be given for short-term requirement such as marriages, religious functions, construction activities, exhibitions, cultural functions, etc.

And whereas Regulation 16 (12) of the Regulations provide that the temporary connection shall be granted for a period of maximum 1 (one) year at a time, which required, may be further extended.

And whereas Regulation 17(2) of the Regulations provide for enhancement of load on the request of the consumer.

And whereas Regulation 17(3) of the Regulations provide for reduction of load on the request of the consumer.

And whereas Regulation 17(4) of the Regulations provide for review of sanctioned load/ contract demand by the distribution licensee based on Maximum Demand readings recorded as per billing cycle covering any four consecutive calendar months in the preceding financial year i.e. from 1st April to 31st March.

And whereas, the Commission has received the communication from the distribution licensee that Regulation 17(4) of the Regulations provide the detailed procedure for review of load for regular consumers. However, regulation does not expressly specify the procedure for review of sanctioned load for temporary connections.

Now, therefore, the Delhi Electricity Regulatory Commission in exercise of its powers conferred under Regulation 84 of the Regulations, hereby makes this Order and clarifies that the provisions of Regulation 17(2), Regulation 17(3) and Regulation 17(4) of the Regulations shall also be applicable for temporary connections.

Sd/-(A. K. Ambasht) **Member** Sd/-(A. K. Singhal) **Member** Sd/-(Justice S. S. Chauhan) **Chairperson**